Little World (2018)

1. Little World

2. Home

3. Crossroads

4.  Traveler's Prayer

5. This Fear

6. Mocking Gun

7. Women at the Wall

8. Alive

9. Shadow

10. Refugee 


All songs written by Emma Back 
Arranged by Emma Back & Colin McCaffrey 
Track 7 arr. by Emma Back, Colin McCaffrey & Cameron Woodruff 
Recorded by Colin McCaffrey at The Greenroom, East Montpelier, VT 
Produced by Colin McCaffrey 
Track 7 produced by Colin McCaffrey & Cameron Woodruff 
Mixed and mastered by Colin McCaffrey 
Photography by Jordan Douglas 
Design by Emma Back & Jordan Douglas


Emma Back: Vocals, Violin, Viola, Keyboard, Alto Recorder, Beat-Boxing, Hand Percussion, Sampling  

Colin McCaffrey: Acoustic Bass, Cello, Hand Percussion, Sampling 

Cameron Woodruff: Piano, Bass, Track 7. Guitar, Sampling, Tracks 7&8 Field Recordings courtesy of Jordan Douglas

Blending acoustic instrumentation with percussive loops, layers of vocal and string harmonies, and flourishes of Eastern-European tonalities, Back's debut 2018 release "Little World," investigates how to heal personal and global conflicts through bearing witness to issues of feminine power, racial and religious oppression, war and ancestry.   

Produced by Colin McCaffrey, “Little World,” "soars on the strength of Back’s stunning vocals, sparse and compelling instrumentation, poetic lyrics and a captivating sound that conjures such singular artists as Andrew Bird, Rhiannon Giddens and Tori Amos while standing tall on its own unique merits." (Tom Huntington, Times Argus). "Little World" was written and recorded during a four-year period of immense transition in Back’s life that included a health crisis resulting in her return to Vermont where she was bedridden for 6 months after burning out from traveling in Israel and touring and teaching throughout the US. In her healing process, she found herself exploring aspects of inner-shadow and global issues of conflict, pondering the age-old question, ‘how do we connect beyond the differences that divide us and stand in compassion and solidarity?' This yearning to heal, both personally and collectively is at the heart of “Little World.” 


Get a free song download